SCPA John Roitzsch Outstanding Achievement in Psychology Awards History

1985 Robert V. Heckel
1986 Not given
1987  Not given
1988  D. Oliver Bowman
1989 David E. Clement
1990  Thomas W. Mahan
1991  Margaret B. Luszki
1992  Herman Salzberg
1993 Alfred J. Finch
1994  Mervyn K. Wagner
1995 Spurgeon Cole
1996  Dean G. Kilpatrick
1997  Robert L. Brown
1998  Not Given
1999  John C. Roitzsch
2000  Connie Lee Best
2001 Salvador Macias,III
2002 Linda S. Moore
2003 Michael Kollar
2004  Bonnie Montgomery
2005  Scott Shaffer, PhD, ABPP
2010  Marion O’Neal
2011  John Ellsworth
2012  Jonathan Bassett
2018  James Evans

SCPA Outstanding Contributions to Psychology During the Past Year Awards History

1988 David E. Clement
1989  Conway F. Saylor
1990  C. David Tollison
1991  Dean G. Kilpatrick
1992  Brenda O’Reilly
1993  Anna and Joel Heffler
1994  John R. Ellsworth
1995  Pamela Carlton
1996 Linda S. Moore
1997 Bonnie Montgomery
1998  David E. Barrett
1999  Patricia Connor-Greene
2000  Patricia Connor-Greene
2001 Frank Budd
2002   Not Given
2003  Stephen Sprinkle
2004 Julia A. Jacobs
2010 Barbara Van Dahlen
2012 Michael Sullivan
2013 Shirley Vickery

The Kendra Ogletree Cusaac Outstanding Psychology Teacher of the Year Award

1989 Mike Jordan
1990  Salvador Macias, III
1991 William Rothstein
1992  Robert V. Heckel
1993  Diane Follingstad
1994 Patricia Connor-Greene
1995  Herman C. Salzberg
1996  D. Oliver Bowman
1997  Conway F. Saylor
1998  Kelly D. Chappell
1999  Tresmaine Grimes
2000 Tresmaine Grimes
2001 Charles L. Brewer
2002 Robert B. Castleberry
2003  Darlene Shaw
2004  George R. Holmes
2011 Jonathan Bassett
2012  Kendra Ogletree-Cusaac
2014  Michele Burnette
2016 Justin Bailey
2017  Rhea Merck

SCPA Outstanding Contribution to Psychology by a Non-Psychologist Awards History

1988 Isadore Lourie, Senator
1989  Denisa Garner, SCPA Executive Director
1990 Tom Mullikin, J.D., SCPA Lobbyist
1991 Not Given
1992  Thomas Alexander, S.C. House of Representatives
1993-1994  Not Given
1995 Michael R Daniel, J.D., SCPA Lobbyist
1996  Denisa Garner, SCPA Executive Director
1997  Scott Beck, S.C. House of Representatives and Stephen Lanford, S.C. House of Representatives
1998 Not Given

Brad Hutto, Senator

1999-2000  Donna Mack, SCPA Executive Director
2004  MidNet (website host)
2014 Patricia F. Glenn, Executive Director – SC Board of Examiners of Psychology

SCPA Special Recognition Awards History

1989 Linda Moore, for “the relentless and selfless effort expended in her dedication to the public welfare and the ethical principles of psychology, in forwarding the passage of the client confidentiality bill through the S.C. State legislature.”This was the first ever Ethics Award.
1993 Corry Robinson, “for her years of dedicated service to children and families in S.C.” as Director of the Human Development Center at Winthrop College.
1997  Brett Steinberg, Graduate Student Representative to Executive Council
1998 Salvador Macias, III, and Robert Castleberry
1999  Robert Castleberry , SCPA Webmaster
2000 Karen Bentley Perry, Graduate Student Representative to Executive Council
2001 Judith Root, Contributions to the Ethics Committee; Paul Doerring, Contributions to the S.C. Board of Examiners in Psychology; Ben Rigby, Graduate Student Representative to Executive Council
2002 Ronald T. Brown, Public Education Campaign Coordinator; Scott Shaffer, Chair, Membership and Dues Restructuring Task Force; Mary Maclachlan, Representative to APA Business of Practice Network; Livy Fogle, Graduate Student Representative to Executive Council
2003 Frank Budd, for ongoing contributions to the field of psychology; Kim Driggers, Graduate Student Representative to Executive Council
2004  Anna Griswold, Ethics Committee Chair; Melanie Livet, Graduate Student Representative to Executive Council
2014 Presidential Awards: James Ruffing, PhD  (SCPA Disaster Response Network)
and Katherine Nordal, PhD (Executive Director – APA Practice Organization)


Academic Day Psychology Bowl Winners

The first Psychology Bowl was held on Academic Day 1994.

1994  Clemson University
1995  Lander University
1996  Lander University
1997  Anderson College
1998 Charleston Southern University
1999 College of Charleston
2000  Francis Marion University
2001  Lander University
2002  College of Charleston
2003 Winthrop University
2004   Clemson University
2013   Furman University